Memorial Day Weekend – Lisa

I’ll be up front and honest.  I cheated this weekend.

I know, I know.

I had an iced coffee from Starbucks on Friday and Monday I had a strawberry and a little bit of angel food cake.  And then I decided I needed Banana Nut Cheerios for a snack, which was a huge mistake.  It hurt my stomach so bad.  I don’t know if it was the mix of that and the crabs we ate for dinner or what, but I was happy to sleep that off.

Anyway, Friday I spent time with friends.  My roommate from college was back in town, so we made dinner, drank some wine, pretended to workout, and went to see a movie.  My friend, Alexia, made these awesome spinach noodles with pesto, arugula, and prosciutto.  At first I didn’t want them because I didn’t want noodles again that week, but they were really delicious.  I sauteed some asparagus and we had bruschetta for an appetizer.

I’ve gotten pretty bad about working out on the weekend.  I did workout Monday evening, however, thanks to another friend.  I’ve been thinking about joining a pool close to home since it’s gotten so hot outside to run in the evening.  I’m not sure which I would like better.  Swimming is a whole other beast.

But I do want to talk a little bit about my cheating.  None of it really made sense.  I had a ton of choices for food, I just wanted these things at those times and I decided to eat them.  And that’s how a lot of people think.  I want it, so I’m going to eat it.  Not:  I want that, but how is it going to make me feel (mentally or physically).

I honestly hate the bloated, over-stuffed feeling after eating out.  So I don’t eat out as much anymore.  And if I do, I pick something that’s not going to fill me up all the way.  And I especially hate the guilt.  I wonder:  When is that going to make it’s way to my thighs.  I remind myself:  NEVER.  Because I’m not going to give it the chance.  If I want to treat myself, I will, but I have to balance any indulgences with the proper exercise.  And sometimes that’s just taking the stairs instead of the elevator.  You don’t have to spend 2 hours on the treadmill.  Give yourself a break.

2 responses

  1. Never look back! I avoid that at all costs. If I look back, I might see my butt and no one wants that to happen! Seriously, what’s the point? Look ahead and do what it takes to help yourself feel good again, right? Guilt is pointless and it only looks backward. Your future is what matters. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

