This is why I love Friday’s off – Lisa

This post was meant for Friday.  I gave up trying to post pictures because my internet was giving me a hard time.  Then the rest of the weekend got super busy with the newest addition of our family being born!  I have another niece and she is absolutely precious.  It’s weird to think that we’re starting all over again with another baby in the family.  It’s been almost 3 years since we’ve had a new one!

Anyway… the beginning of this was written on Friday and the rest on Monday.

When I woke up a little after 9 this morning I wasn’t hungry.  That was surprising, but since I was at my boyfriend’s house I decided not to eat before I left for home.

This is what I envision for my days off:  going to the grocery store and a lot of cooking and trying new things.  I can’t wait for dinner tonight.  We’re having ribs on the Big Green Egg (they’re expensive but worth the money, food tastes so much better off of it) and I picked up fresh vegetables from the farmer’s market earlier this week.

I made for lunch black beans and rice.

black beans and rice

It’s incredibly easy to make.  I use my dutch oven because I can saute the veggies in it first and the lid is really tight.

Black Beans and Rice

olive oil
1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
1 medium red bell pepper, chopped (I didn’t have this)
small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
15 oz can black beans (don’t drain)
15 oz can diced tomatoes with zesty peppers or jalapenos
1 1/2 cups water
cumin
1 bay leaf
Oregano
cilantro
salt and pepper

Heat oil on medium.  Add onions, peppers, and garlic and saute until soft.  Add rice, beans, tomatoes, cumin, bay leaf, oregano, salt and pepper.  Simmer on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the rice absorbs most of the water and just barely skims the top of the rice (I’m sometimes too hasty with this step and everything turns out fine if you just put the top on and let it go).  Cover, reduce heat to low and let simmer for 20-30 minutes.  My stove isn’t that great and it takes about 30 minutes for the rice to steam.  After the 20-30 minutes are done, leave the cover on for another 5 minutes.

I love to use the leftovers for breakfast.  I heat it up in a skillet with some eggs.  It’s really delicious.

And I decided to give myself one last treat this weekend, since it’s now the 3rd week of the No Sugar Challenge and I’m eating ZERO sugar.  Okay, so some of the foods I’ve eaten have a little bit of sugar in them.  Like 1 gram.  I’m not counting that, but I’m not letting that add up either.

My treat:  Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Hummus Dip Horrible name.  Let’s call it:  Faux Cookie Dough

Faux Cookie Dough

2 cups chickpeas (from can, rinsed and peeled)
1/4 cup peanut butter
2 tbl maple syrup (it calls for 1/4 cup and 2 tbl but that’s too sweet for me)
1/2 tbl vanilla
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Put everything but the chocolate chips in a food processor (a blender might work too, the ingredients aren’t too dry).  Process until smooth (or chunky if that’s your thing) and fold in the chocolate chips.  Easy!  You can eat them with apples, or with those graham cracker Scooby snacks.  I prefer the Scooby Snacks.

So far I’ve had great success with this No Sugar Challenge.  It’s been rough.  The first couple of days, Emily and I were talking like addicts.  We couldn’t stop thinking about sweets.  Now it doesn’t seem like such a big deal.  I can easily say “no.”  And I’ve lost a few pounds!

Later this week I’ll post a workout routine.  So far I’ve been doing a lot of cardio.  I’m ready to mix it up with some weight lifting.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

