Emily’s Food Journal 5/17

I got to work at 6:30am this morning and I. Was. HANGRY. Which is weird, usually I’m not THAT hungry when I get to work, and I typically try to just have some hot tea so I can have breakfast a little later. When I got to work I had 1/2 cup of 4% whole milk cottage cheese and then moved onto the sweet potato biscuit from Magnolia Bread Company that I brought with me. I took a few delicious bites before realizing there was a tiny bit of mold on it.

NOTE: This wasn’t purchased moldy. I don’t want anyone thinking poorly about this amazing company. I bought my biscuits a week ago, and sometimes I don’t eat them fast enough and they get moldy and it’s a shame. That’s what happens when  you eat real food with no preservatives.

Anyway, I wasn’t really hungry anymore after that, so I just decided to get myself some water and get to work.

8:50 – I got yet another critical assignment tossed my way at work. I needed a pick-me-up so I had an organic pear that I picked up on my last shopping trip to Chesapeake’s Bounty.

12:30 – A group of us went to a nice restaurant for lunch. To start I had a cup of the soup of the day, this amazing Spicy Hot soup that I need to find out how to make. My main dish was the Spring Shrimp Wrap which was a flatbread wrap with shrimp, ranch dressing, avocado, mango, tomato, and lettuce. What I really loved about it, other than the fact that it was delicious, was that it was really light. It wasn’t stuffed with ingredients. It didn’t weigh 5 lbs. and wasn’t slathered with ranch dressing. This was paired with a small salad of mixed greens with balsamic vinaigrette dressing on the side. They also serve complimentary rosemary bread that you dip on olive oil and this carb lover managed to only have 3 tiny pieces.

 

Later in the afternoon I needed another pick-me-up. Out of home brought snacks, I may or may not have had 2 tablespoons of M&Ms. (The scooper in the candy jar at the reception desk is a tablespoon which is how I can be so exact).

Afterwork I went for a 3.1 mile run with my running buddy and then grabbed Panera for dinner. I had half of a Strawberry Poppyseed Salad and a cup of Broccoli Cheddar Soup with a whole grain baguette on the side.

*I also drink 2 liters of water every (week) day. I’m a little lax on that during the weekend.

Leave a Reply

