Emily – This is making me eat worse

Snacks. I need help coming up with snacks or I’m going to go crazy. I feel like I eat nothing but cheese and almonds. I now can’t stand the smell of either of them. This whole thing is actually starting to make me eat worse. I didn’t eat poorly to begin with. I have a sweet tooth. That’s it. It’s not an everyday thing. I could go a week without touching chocolate. If we had just said, “Okay, we’re going to give up sweets and sugary drinks (I don’t even drink soda so this isn’t a problem except for the occasional sweet tea I treat myself to)” I could do this challenge no problem. I’ve had absolutely no desire to go to the vending machines at work or stick my hand in the candy bar and have myself a free for all.

 

It’s the regular eating that’s killing me. I don’t know what to eat.

 

Here’s a typical day of eating for me BEFORE this challenge:

 

Breakfast: cottage cheese, 6 or 7 large (with seeds) grapes, and an organic sweet potato biscuit picked up from the farmer’s market I go to.

 

Lunch: Salad topped with feta, veggies, and a dressing of olive oil and balsamic vinegar

 

Lunch: a number of different things, all “clean” aka not processed.

 

In between those meals whenever I’d get hungry I’d have a Lara Bar or some kind of fruit.

 

Know what I’m eating right now? A bag of Goldfish. Fact: there’s less than 1g of sugar per serving of Goldfish (and before someone goes “Hey wait…there’s sugar in that. Aren’t you supposed to be giving it up? Impossible. It’s everywhere. The idea is to be low sugar. A medium cucumber has 4 grams of sugar.)

 

I feel like I’m eating worse than I normally would. I literally can’t tell you the last time I had a bag of Goldfish. My desire to not eat them came from reading the ingredient label:

Unbleached enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), cheddar cheese, vegetable oils, salt, yeast, sugar, spices, autolyzed yeast, leavening, onion powder.

 

Way too many ingredients. Not to mention the first ingredient being the horrible Unbleached Enriched flour. Doesn’t matter that it’s wheat. It’s still unbleached and enriched.

 

Yeah, those grapes I used to have for breakfast were loaded with sugar since they’re fruit. But at least I knew where all of the ingredients came from.

Leave a Reply

