What am I doing? – A rant from Emily

I’ve lost three pounds since Monday.

Impressive.

But I don’t know if I’m ready to attribute that to my elimination of sugar. Unlike Lisa, I’ve been having 5-6 small meals a day. But for the life of me I can’t tell you everything I ate because it seems like I’m just constantly snacking all day. I don’t know how I feel about that. It’s different from my normal routine. Typically, I get to work at 6:30am and I have some tea or something small to eat. Then I have my “real” breakfast around 8. 

I love breakfast. I love eating a delicious 400 calories in the morning so I’m ready to take on the work day. There’s that saying, something about how in the morning you should eat like a king, then eat like a prince at lunch and a pauper at dinner (?) Something like that. Totally my kind of eating. I love me a huge breakfast.

My problem with the constant snacking all day is that I’m not enjoying my food. I LOVE to eat. I love to sit there and look at my beautiful meal and contemplate all of it’s parts and how each of the flavors are going to taste soooooo unbelievably good going down. 

It may be that this no sugar  thing is so foreign to me that I’m not creative enough, but I feel like I’m eating the same thing over and over again. Eggs, almonds, spinach, chicken, etc. It’s killing me. It’s not enjoyable. And going back to what I said about not being ready to attribute the three pound weight loss to the no sugar challenge – I feel like I’m not eating enough. I mean, I eat when I’m hungry and I eat until I’m full. Yet last night I woke up at 12:45am with terrible hunger pains.

And another thing (why yes, yes this is going to be a post about how much I’m hating life right now), I feel so tired. Which I know is to be expected but I don’t have to like it. I WILL stick with this challenge but I could NEVER make this my lifestyle. Kudos to Sarah Wilson and whoever else does this. I understand the necessity of reducing sugar, but this is insanity. I typically run 3 miles when I exercise. Granted, I haven’t been able to run consistently over the last week because of a busy schedule, but I should still be running almost 3 miles. 

I was dying yesterday at a mile and a half. 

I know this isn’t a “diet,” it’s a lifestyle change that many people need, but it still reminds me of why I don’t diet. I eat what I want, when I want (which luckily I typically make good choices about because that’s just me), and then I work hard at the gym. I’m able to work hard at the gym because I have the strength to do so because I’ve fed myself well throughout the day.

I’m sticking with this challenge because I’ve got a honeymoon coming up and I need to shed a few lbs that I acquired during a girls trip to NYC, but in the end, on a regular day, losing a few pounds is not worth how terrible this no sugar challenge is making my body feel.

Leave a Reply

