Emily’s Goals

I have a sweet tooth.

An unbelievable sweet tooth.

It’s no joke when they say that sugar has addictive properties. If put in front of a bag of mini Reese’s cups, that bag doesn’t stand a chance; I won’t be able to stop eating. And then I’ll sit there surrounded by those little golden wrappers wondering how I let myself go yet again.

My goal in doing this no sugar challenge isn’t to rid my life of sugar, but simply to be able to be in control of sugar, and not have it be in control of me.

My husband and I practice (mostly) clean eating, with very little processed foods. But I was still surprised when I realized how much sugar I was consuming: several pieces of fruit throughout the day, honey in my tea, balsamic vinegar on my salad, etc. It adds up, and you don’t even realize it.

The worst part is definitely going to be the no fruit. I love fruit. I could eat a watermelon for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. But as Sarah Wilson says in her eBook: sugar is sugar. The sugar in those delicious little chocolately-peanut buttery cups of Heaven is the same kind of sugar in that sweet crunchy apple. And it must go.

I’m tired of not being in control of my sweet tooth. I eat so well in general that it really sucks when I’m completely thrown off track by one innocent chocolate chip cookie (which then turns in to 2, 3…6?). I love to have treats and I think everyone deserves treats. I just want to be able to say “Wow, that was delicious, and really hit the spot, and I think I’ll just stop at one.”

Leave a Reply

