Dining at the Maya Beach Hotel Bistro – Intro and Breakfast

It’s Emily! I’m BAAAACCKKK!!!!

As I mentioned in a post the other day, my husband and I have been away enjoying our Belated Honeymoon. I did my best to…um…”research,” yes research ALL of the amazing food options at our hotel :) and I am SO EXCITED to share my eating adventures.

We stayed at an amazing little privately owned hotel in Placencia called the Maya Beach Hotel.  It’s privately owned by the amazing couple of Ellen (American) and John (Australian). We loved it the first time we read through the website. I could go on and on about the hotel, but this is a food blog so I’m going to try to stick to that. Just know that I agree with every positive review on Trip Advisor. It was that amazing.

This brings me to the Maya Beach Hotel Bistro.

Sitting on a shelf on the wall behind the bar, among other awards that the Bistro has received over the years, is a well-earned 2012 #1 Restaurant award from Trip Advisor.  From the food, to the staff, to the atmosphere, eating at the Bistro is the most pleasant dining out experience I’ve ever had. Imagine a dinner out with your family. You know how sometimes you have those amazing nights when the food is extra good, the waiter/waitress is extra friendly and attentive, and you’re more than happy to leave a hefty well-earned tip?  

That’s what it’s like at the Maya Beach Hotel Bistro. Whereas you may be lucky to have a night like this every once in a while at your nearest chain restaurant, it is exactly this amazing, and no less, every night at the Bistro. Breakfast. Lunch. Happy Hour. Dinner.

By the end of our first day there, all of the staff members had our names memorized and we felt a friendly connection to each of them.  When we entered the dining area for our final dinner on Thursday, my husband’s rum and orange juice was already sitting at our favorite table and the waiter (Cedrick, who, when taking away my cleaned plate always told me I “did a good job”) already had in the order for his Caesar salad to start.

It’s not just Maya Beach Hotel guests dining at the Bistro. From Breakfast to Dinner, you can find expats and their families and often times, other guests from other resorts who “heard about the Bistro and just HAD to come here!”

For my obviously very scientific “research” I took pictures of our meals during the trip. I didn’t catch EVERY meal for various reasons, typically one of the following:

  1. I ate it all before I remembered to take a picture
  2. I forgot my cell phone in Flip Flop Palace
  3. If it was a repeat (I had a lot of bagels…) I didn’t take a picture 

I decided to talk about the food by awarding “Superlatives.” Spoiler Alert: I can think of a crazy award for every meal because every meal deserves one. There are no losers here. 

PLEASE NOTE: Not that I have any photography skills whatsoever, but I wanted to warn that the pictures are not the best because I took them all on my phone and at dinner there’s really barely any lighting so my flash makes things crazy.

In this post we’ll start with breakfast, and then I’ll post lunch tomorrow.

So. Without Further Ado.

In the category of BREAKFAST:

Best “Beans And Toast”

Winner: Belizean Breakfast

Image

Belize, once a British colony, is now still part of the British Commonwealth. Unsurprisingly, this has had some influence on the food. One obvious example is the presence of the classic Fish and Chips on the menu, but my favorite is the Belizean twist on the English breakfast staple of beans and toast.

The Belizean Breakfast is just that. Eggs (your way – I had them scrambled), spicy black beans, and Fry Jacks which are like a fluffy, doughy tortillas. 

 Spicy black beans and eggs. A delicious combination that I need to see more of in my life.

Most Likely To Give You A Morning Sugar Rush

Winner: Cinnamon Roll

Image

Do you see this thing? It’s HUGE. I can’t even tell you the last time I had a cinnamon roll because I’m not really a sugar in the morning kind of person but when I saw these being carried out one morning, I knew I had to try it at some point. It was ooey and gooey and practically the size of my hand.

Most Likely to Make You Reminisce About Breakfast at Grandma’s

Winner: Cinnamon Roll French Toast

 Image

It seemed that they literally cut their cinnamon rolls into slices, and then used to slices as French Toast. Delicious. I didn’t eat it but my husband did. Twice.

Best Use Of The Food Pyramid

Winner: Egg Bagel Cream Cheese Sandwich

Image

Homemade (daily) bagel, spread with a hefty smear of cream cheese, topped with egg (your way) and a small side of fruit.

Grains? Check! (Although not whole wheat or anything)

Dairy? Check!

Protein? Check!

Fruit? Check!

Veggies? No…but I mean…look at everything else!

Most Likely To Make Me Ask The Waiter, “Um, What Is That?”

Winner: The Fruit Bowl

Image

Whenever we got a side of fruit, the mixture was always different: Watermelon, Cantaloupe, Papaya (P.S. I hate papaya), Pineapple, Mango, Dragon Fruit…

Say WHAT?!?!

Dragon Fruit. I’d heard of it. Seen it online. Totally did not expect it to be placed in front of me for breakfast.  This isn’t the best picture but it’s the bright pink fruit with the little black seeds. As far as taste, it doesn’t have that strong of a flavor. It’s along the lines of kiwi, but again, the flavor is mild.

Well, I’d say this post is incredibly long enough! Back tomorrow with lunch!!

Leave a Reply

